Artist Impersonator

by alfred ng | May 10, 2009 at 05:29 pm
258 views | 16 Recommendations | 9 comments

As they say, “life is stranger than fiction”,  I am not a well know artist by any means however one “artist” thinks my work are impressive enough to use as his own.

 

Recently, I discovered a Bangladesh born artist currently living in Toronto, Canada has copied a major part of my biography from my site, www.alfredng.ca and only changed the year, name and the country. The worst is he also uses my works as his own!

This is his link from his page “about us” www. nandonikfinearts.com   which open to my site. I don’t know how long he been doing this. This came to me as complete shock and but why?

I check on his site as he runs an art school at his studio for kids and was using my site to promote his class. He does display his own works at his site and they are very different from mine.

 I just think it is so pathetic for someone to do this!

Advertisement
recommend Sign In or Join to post comments
5
Laughing-Samurai

being an artist myself, I find this disturbing and probably something that happens more often than we actually know.

I have something similar. A guy in California changed his name to mine and started painting but he does not tell people he is me.

The IP for the domain name is in Dhaka, so you could try contacting this person and make a complaint.

Domain Leader

    Mr. Mahabubur Rahman        

    Mirpur

    Dhaka

    Dhaka,1216

    BD

    Tel. +880.1712017274

Since this person lives in Canada what he is doing will be considered "internet crime" so I think you could do something. The following site should help you.

http://www.ccmostwanted.com/report/report2.htm

Keep us informed on NP

Good Luck!

2
Laughing-Samurai

now I remember you from a previous post on "artists donate to art auction" sorry you don't post very often?

zichi

2
Laughing-Samurai

if there is a local newspaper in the same district as his art school you could write your story to them!

0
navsingh

Did u know Copyright is a human right

1
Uwe Paschen

I second LS his comments, It is a big problem I had a similar experience my self. 


1
Jordan Yerman

The arts community in Toronto is a small world... once word gets out, this guy is hosed.

0
alfred ng

 even I am not happy with what he done but I don't want him to lose his business ( his art school). I am still thinking how to deal with this.

0
Laughing-Samurai

his site is hosted by http://www.bdonline.com/

0
alfred ng

It seems Mr. Islam been getting emails. The following is his email to me:

 

 Dear Sir or Madam:
I'm Extremely sorry about that- it's big mistake to my web-developer,I was ill -that is why,I didn't see it,my web-developer hosted it few days.He Will remove  biography  immediately. Don't worry.
Once again I am sorry ---it's sor-rowble.
Thanks.
Best Regards- M. Islam    

 

 

I checked on his site today and was glad he removed not only that offending page also removed his site all together.

However I find his excuses are unbelievable even if his site was done by someone else. Surly, that person has to work from the information and images supplied by him.

Why he never check on the contents before and after it published?

 On his site, he claimed he does graphic and web design for small business why he needs outside help for his own?

I hope he learn the lesson of honesty from this sad affair!

 

What is NowPublic?

NowPublic lets people work together to cover news events around the world.

Find out more

Crowd Power

Anonymous
First Flagged at 6:10 PM, May 10, 2009 by Anonymous (not verified)

Related Stories

Recommendations (16)

Most recently recommended by:
 

closeSign in to NowPublic

is reporting from