BCCI at war with ICC :Gambhir to miss final
In-form India opener Gautam Gambhir will miss the final test against Australia after his appeal against a one-test ban was dismissed on Tuesday by the International Cricket Council's (ICC) appeal commissioner.
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said it had objected to the ICC about appeals commissioner Albie Sachs's decision to uphold the ban imposed by match referee Chris Broad for breach of conduct in last week's third test in New Delhi.
However, the ICC said in a statement the appeal commissioner's decision is a final and binding decision.
The BCCI's own statement stated: "The said order has been passed without affording the player an opportunity of personal hearing, legal representation and without acceding to his request for certain documents/recordings to be given to him and also denying him an extension of time".
Gambhir, who scored a double century in the first innings of the test, was penalised for elbowing Shane Watson while taking a run. The Australian all rounder, who was bowling, was fined 10 percent of his match fee for his role in the incident.
The test in Nagpur begins on Thursday with India leading the four-match series 1-0 after two draws.
In its letter to the ICC, the board said the order of the commissioner seemed pre-decided and asked for the decision to be considered void "as it contravenes mandatory provisions relating to hearing of appeals and also as being in violation of principles of natural justice."
Justice Sachs, in his verdict, said: "I am prepared to accept that he (Gambhir) had been the victim of prolonged and persistent verbal abuse by members of the Australian team, culminating in a moment of anger that led to his unfortunate lapse.