Steven Gerrard Escapes 'V-Sign' Charge As Liverpool Lose To Wigan
Gerrard appeared to make the V-sign to Marriner after he had booked him. Gerrard also appeared to mouth an obscenity at the same time.
It was bad enough for Liverpool that they lost to lowly Wigan, who sit just above the relegation zone, never mind their star player courting more controversy with FA charges. The loss still stands but Gerrad appears to have convinced the FA that he was actually signaling to the ref that he had been badly tackled twice.
Last year Gerrard found himself in court for an alleged assault of which he was subsequently cleared.
The defeat leaves Liverpool in sixth position in the Premier League and in danger of not making the Champions League next year. Should this happen pundits are already speculating if Liverpool's star players such as Gerrard and FERNANDO TORRES will stay at the club.
Steven Gerrard is unlikely to face any disciplinary action from the Football Association for allegedly making a two fingered gesture to referee Andre Marriner during Liverpool’s 1-0 defeat by Wigan Athletic.
The FA, it is understood, accept Liverpool's version of events that Gerrard was not gesturing at Marriner. Indeed the midfielder was making the point that he had been brought down twice in bad tackles and there had been no sanction while he was annoyed at being cautioned. He was not specifically targeting the official.