Fake Friendster and Facebook Site Found!

by yul3452 | December 19, 2008 at 11:41 am
227 views | 1 Recommendation | 0 comments
One IP address that provides twice the fakery…

We spotted this fake Friendster website at http://friend[...]ter.com. The website steals the e-mail address and password information entered by an unsuspecting visitor who arrives at this page thinking it's the actual Friendster site.

Fake Friendster

Links to the fake website are propagating through malicious comments sent from the compromised accounts of friends in the Friendster network. The links are also included in the infected friend's profile.

Comments

Interestingly, on further analysis, the domain http://friend[...]ter.com also pointed to a fake Facebook page as its main page!

Fake Facebook

This fake domain was registered recently in China, and is hosted in China as well. We traced the IP address and noticed that it was hosting quite a few other fake social networking websites — MySpace, Friendster, Facebook, et cetera.

register

IP address

Comments (0)

This story was created over 3 months ago, the comment thread is now closed.

What is NowPublic?

NowPublic lets people work together to cover news events around the world.

Find out more

Crowd Power

Anonymous
First Flagged at 5:58 AM, Feb 10, 2009 by Anonymous (not verified)

Related Stories

Recommendations (1)

Most recently recommended by:
 

closeSign in to NowPublic

is reporting from