Galewher.com Facebook, Twitter Virus: Koobface Strikes Again

by Jordan Yerman | December 22, 2009 at 08:53 am
28445 views | 13 Recommendations | 12 comments

Photos

bandit (Skype emoticon)

bandit (Skype emoticon)

see larger image

uploaded by Jordan Yerman

Galewher.com is a malware site that can hijack your Facebook account. If anyone on Facebook sends you any kind of message referring to Galewher.com or Galewher.c0m, their account has been infected. As always, never click on any suspicious links in social media messages. According to Softsailor, these malicious links are also appearing on Twitter, and is able to hijack Twitter accounts. Beware. Don't download anything associated with Galewher.com. Your will get pwned and then it's all tears.

Apparently, Galewher.com is an extension of the Koobface worm, which has been running amuck for some time now.

According to a report, behind the Galewher.com or Galewher.c0m Facebook virus is the Koobface Trojan. Please do not download anything while searching information about the Koobface Trojan or the Galewher.com Facebook virus. It seems like Facebook has acknowledged the existence of the virus and it’s trying to fix the problem.

I see nothing on Facebook's blog about Galewher.com at the moment, though.

Advertisement
recommend This comment thread is now closed
2
Cia

I got a message from a friend on my FB wall saying "This must be the perfect job for you GALEWHER.C0M"What should i do now!? Just change my password or what!?

4
Iron Monkey

Me too. Same message. Any advise? Thx

2
Healthy Bear

Hi Cia, it just means your friend's account has been hijacked. Do him/her a favour and bring it to his/her attention. Continue to be vigliant!

1
chaya n

i got the same message from a friend??what do i do???

1
isoraya

I haven't opened my FB for about a week now and when I opened it I just found out that galewher has posted some add using my account on my wall ...   any idea what to do ?

1
thejournalizer

That information actually came from Play This magazine. So good job not sourcing properly. Crappy bloggers.

0
Jordan Yerman

If you got a message like the ones mentioned above, don't click on any links or visit any sites that the message suggests. Let the person whose account sent the message that they need do reset their password; they should contact Facebook's support team as well.

0
merebear

cool

0
plzhelp

whats thats ? dont understand ......

0
plzhelp

Hi, i'm hijacked ... plz help ...

0
stevefreaker

iam so very confused donno know wht and how to do it!!!! help!!!

0
klem

i linked d site from my phone. any pottential danger 4me?

This story was created over 3 months ago, the comment thread is now closed.

NowPublic on Facebook

What is NowPublic?

NowPublic lets people work together to cover news events around the world.

Find out more

Crowd Power

Karl Gotthardt - albertacowpoke
First Flagged at 8:54 AM, Dec 22, 2009 by Karl Gotthardt - albertacowpoke
These members have powered this story:

Related Stories

Recommendations (13)

Most recently recommended by:
 

closeSign in to NowPublic

is reporting from