NP Rank:
RoadRunner Spam Blocking Out of Control
Seconds later, the email was returned with a link to this:
Road Runner Block Query Results For 216.193.128.54Current Road Runner Block Report for IP address: 216.193.128.54 Date of Report: Fri Oct 17 20:13:45 EDT 2008 DNS Reverse (i.e., PTR record) Lookup : cp1.enter.net Spamhaus (ZEN) : Not blocked by this list MAPS RBL-Plus : Not blocked by this list Road Runner Internal Name-Based Block : Not blocked by this list Road Runner Internal IP Address-Based Block : Mail Refused - 216.193.128.54 - See http://security.rr.com/mail_blocks.htm#highspam - 20081016 Prior Block History for 216.193.128.54: 216.193.128.54 blocked on 20050926; removed on 20060125
Apparently, Jace dealt with this once before. We're pretty paranoid here at Dysamoria.com because of the threats and stalking from hate mongers (both from Jace's era and current), so it has certainly crossed our minds that someone somewhere is ABUSING some system for their own pleasure. But then we followed the link in their message page:
ERROR:5.7.1:550 Mail Refused - NETWORK_OR_IP_GOES_HERE - See http://security.rr.com/mail_blocks.htm#highspam - 200YMMDD This error message means that the IP in question was blocked not due to spam complaints, but rather due to mail from the IP trigerring our anti-spam filters at a high enough volume and percentage for us to feel that blocking the IP is warranted. IPs blocked for this reason cannot be removed from our block list by our removal request form; instead, IPs blocked for this reason will be automatically removed from our block list after a pre-determined interval of time has passed.
How user unfriendly. We also found numerous complaints about RoadRunner's application of this mindless BLOCKING via a simple Google search. Try it out yourself. Here's a sample: HERE.
Jace has previously made an article about security going beyond security and into the realm of mindless overlording, obstructing the very use of the technology intended to serve. It may be time to post that article. We encourage you to send any issues of complaint to RoadRunner's CEO, or support centers, or board of directors... See if it accomplishes as much as the attempt to get flickr in line accomplished (nothing).
P.S.: SIXTH EDIT to clean up bad HTML and bad NowPublic code. Prior "PS" went missing. WTH? WYSINWYG!
Crowd Power
-
bennylin
Canada -
hungeski
Cleveland, Ohio, United States -
BrandonA
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada -
Markphoto.net
Chicago, Illinois, United States






Most RecentMost Recommended Comments (5)
at 17:19 on October 17th, 2008
dysamoria, sorry about your editing problems on this site.
Interesting post though. I agree with this statement:
"security going beyond security and into the realm of mindless overlording, obstructing the very use of the technology intended to serve."
at 17:50 on October 17th, 2008
Not surprised, someone has been using my domain name to send spam and I constantly get the Mail Daemon returning them to me. so many I wonder if I'm blocked too.
heard that if someone on your IP is spamming, can get everyone on the IP;s servers blocked too.
RoadRunner? someone tried to get me to use them once. too expensive.
Try a gmail account.
at 22:07 on October 17th, 2008
Hello,
I work in the feild of computer forensics. This is one of those things that can help you or not...I agree with Rene, that you should try using a free gmail account. That should help, but if the spam blocker on the other end is really good be blocking your IP address and not just the e-mail servers.
Although I did some digging for you and It seems your are being blocked from Spamhaus.org. Which means all you have to do is lookup your IP Address in there records and submit a removal request...Done that all you need to get it back running smoothly,
Here are the links to two of the records databases I think will contain your IP Address,
http://www.spamhaus.org/pbl/index.lasso
http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/index.lasso
Best,
Brandon Anderson
spectronintelligence.com
at 14:40 on October 21st, 2008
Thank you so VERY much Brandon!
at 14:44 on October 21st, 2008
216.193.128.54 is not listed in the SBL
216.193.128.54 is not listed in the PBL
216.193.128.54 is not listed in the XBL
hmmm... Technology. I Hate It.
Seems to be roadrunner specifically??